Justice and Mercy

Oh Omar,
What have you done?
You, like Cain, have killed your brother.
How many times must I see this story unfold?

How many times?

You may not know this story.
It is a buried part of your faith story, though.
Those you call your people; they also came from the line of Abraham.
All tribes lead back to the brotherhood of Cain.

I said to him, “Why are you angry? Why is your face downcast? If you do what is right, will you not be accepted? But if you do not do what is right, sin is crouching at your door; it desires you, but you must master it.”
Oh Omar, you did not master hate.
You let it set you against your brother.
You have done what is wrong.
Your brother’s blood cries out from the ground upon which it spilled.

Your heart sought to honor me,
But filtered through your anger and hatred, you misheard my call.

Oh Omar!
Welcome home to me.
My grace abounds.
Because you came so soon, there are some things still undone.
While I prepare your room, allow me to fill your heart with MY love.

Allow me to give you MY eyes.
And as penance for your sin, you will see the suffering you caused:
You will face those whom you have slain,
But you will do so with MY heart.

It is my will.

It is finished.

Love,
Your Allah

Leave a Reply

