Praying for the child(ren)

Good morning! It has been a long time since I have written. I have recently found my energies primarily directed into other creative endeavors. But I feel compelled at this time to share this in a do-able way.

Some time ago, I developed this prayer for praying over my child. I find it helpful when I am not sure what to pray. I share it with a caveat that I do not remember if I adapted this from some other source(s) (other than the Bible) and I am unsure at this point whom to credit… so here’s my compiled prayer for all those who pray for children specifically:

Prayer for _____________________
Scripture: Pray:
Acts 19:20 Father God, we ask and pray that your word would prevail over ____________
Isaiah 54:13 May he/she be raised with knowledge of you,
Proverbs 13:1 and grow to be the fruit of your knowledge and guidance.
Isaiah 54:13 May he/she experience great peace and composure.
Proverbs 2:6 Father, give me and grace, good counsel, and wisdom as we raise ____________.
1Peter 1:14-15 May he/she grow to submit to You, and not his sinful desires, being holy in his/her thoughts and actions.
1Peter 2:2 May he/she desire the good that You and we can offer, growing by it.
James 1:19 May he/she be anxious to listen, slow to speak, and slow to anger.
Hebrews 13:5 May he/she be content with what he/she has, not longing for the things of this world.
Micah 6:8 May he/she act with justice, love mercy, and walk humbly with You, God.
Hebrews 13:5 May he/she share in love, and not forget or fail to do what is right.
2 Peter 3:18 May he/she grow in the grace and knowledge of you.
1 Thessalonians 4:1 May Your pleasure wash over him/her daily.
1 Peter 5:5 I ask that ____________ would learn to walk humbly with You and others, submitting him- or herself to You, Lord, and to his/her brothers and sisters in You.
1Peter 5:7 May he/she cast his/her cares upon you, Lord, for you care for him/her. May I be wise in my responses and able to respond to his/her fears, worries and concerns as you would, God.
James 1:22 May he/she be a doer of Your Word, and not a hearer only.
Philemon 1:6 May he/she demonstrate and share his/her faith and love for You in his/her every action.
2 Timothy 1:7, 9 Lord, let him/her not have a spirit of fear, but of power, love, and a strong mind. May you sustain his/her boby, mind, and spirit, for you have made him/her, loved him/her, and called him/her holy, not according to his/her works, but according to your boundless, ceaseless love.
2 Timothy 4:18 Deliver him/her from evil, and preserve him.
1 John 2:5 May I keep Your Word, and as your love is being perfected in me, may ____________ also learn to walk in and keep your Word, like-wise being shaped by your love.
2 Timothy 2:22 May he/she follow after love, righteousness, faith, and peace.
Leave a Reply

